Windwalker: Order of the Red Sons by H.G. Chambers

The third book in chambers Windwalker series, Order of the Red Sons continues the story of Kiva and her battle against enemies both supernatural and human. As always, Chambers world building is superb, allowing you to slip seamlessly into the dessert world of Madina Basin. I was slightly disappointed with the direction Kiva is taken in at the start of the book, with Damsel in Distress theme coming though, but this initial irritation was quickly lost as the book found its feet.

Chambers does a very good job of building characters; the multitude of characters on display are brilliantly well thought out and have their own distinct personalities. Even the ‘bad guys’ are well thought through with clear motivations. There is a very good overarching plot with a lot of things going on around the side to keep the book moving along at a great pace.

A real page turner of a book, I genuinely struggled to put it down. The biggest complaint I can level against it is that I was under the mistaken belief that this was part of a trilogy (I’m not sure why) and was thoroughly irked when I got to the end and everything wasn’t wrapped up nicely in a little bow. After counting to 10 I realised that this means there will be another book and I can look forward to revisiting Kiva and Co in the future.

I gave the book 4.7 stars, so definitely highly recommended! You can buy this book at Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk

Leave a comment